girl about town

this and that

you’re not perfect… June 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — hmcclure2005 @ 10:21 pm

I recently read the funniest post on a design blog yet. Here’s a link to Young House Love. They posted the funniest article about a website called Catalog Living. Basically it’s poking fun at design catalogs and magazines because of the funny staging…here’s an example:

Climate control…

Elaine wasn’t about to let some hot flashes get in the way of balancing the checkbook with the abacus.

BRILLIANT. I love it!

I laughed out loud! I immediately picked up the closest catalog and tried a few funny photo captions myself.

It helps to put it into perspective. I mean…who really lives like that? I’ve been struggling with the fantasy of having a magazine perfect home, but it isn’t realistic at all. I mean…where’s the pile of mail you just brought inside and haven’t sorted? Where’s your purse and lunch bag you dragged in after work? Where’s the glass of water and Advil on the nightstand? Toothbrush on the vanity? Not in those houses!

I keep reminding myself that not only are those rooms staged by a professional, but they are also photographed by a professional and photo-shopped to look perfect. It’s unattainable.

It reminds me of being a teenager when my mom started letting me read Seventeen magazine. Up until then I didn’t know that I didn’t have the perfect body or hair, or skin or clothes.  I had to be reminded (over and over again) that those girls were airbrushed and that even THEY didn’t really look like that.

Maybe we should start a magazine/catalog called “The Way We Really Live”. We could photograph beautifully decorated, LIVED-IN rooms.  You know…with a coffee cup on the coffee table—shocking! A couple of dishes in the sink. Maybe a basket of laundry? Okay…that might be pushing it a bit, but you get the idea.

And what about people? Not models, but real people living in real homes? Like the stay-at-home-mom who just dropped the kids off at soccer practice and came home with groceries to start dinner. She might have a beautiful home. I’d buy a magazine like that. Wouldn’t you?

 

Leave a Reply

