girl about town

this and that

it’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood September 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — hmcclure2005 @ 8:07 pm
I was feeling spunky yesterday and decided to go for a long walk around my neighborhood while my laundry was in the dryer. I’ve lived in Old Louisville for over a year and I’ve never really taken the time to stop and smell the roses, so to speak. I have a love hate relationship with my neighborhood. On the one hand, it’s
walk this way...

walk this way...

beautiful…old trees, brick sidewalks, houses dating back to the late 1800’s. On the other hand, it’s not exactly a safe neighborhood (unfortunately). Needless to say…I took my walk during the day. I rammed my fat feet into my sneakers, grabbed my camera and took off…

 

 

 

First thing’s first….I have a small obsession with doors and doorways. I don’t know why…I just love them.

I especially love the double red and turquoise doors and also…who doesn’t love a door that goes nowhere? ha!

Even old crummy doors…think of all the stories it could tell?

 

 

 

 

 

I also like old, old houses…

 

This is my new favorite street: Belgravia Court.

It’s a walking court that sits just south of St. James Court. St. James is a nationally known art/craft fair.

 I also love brick walkways that lead to hidden gardens. Completely shaded and mysterious.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Check out this beauty: 

Can you imagine living there? Ugh. I think next time I’ll find a walking partner and stroll Belgravia at night so I can peek inside these beautiful homes.

I also like old iron fences with concrete columns:

 

 

 

And who can resist a good ‘ole fashioned fire escape?

 

One Response to “it’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood”

  1. Courtney Says:

    I too have a major obsession with doors! This round up in insane!!!! Gorgeous entryways.


Leave a Reply

